Gani Adams becomes 15th Aare Ona Kakanfo


Nineteen years after the death of the 14th Aare Ona Kakanfo of Yorubaland, Chief Moshood Kashimawo Olawale (MKO) Abiola, the National Coordinator of the Odua Peoples Congress (OPC), Otunba Gani Adams, on Sunday, emerged as the 15th holder of the revered title.
The Alaafin of Oyo, Oba Lamidi Adeyemi III, approved this in a letter sent to Adams.
With this, Adams has become the foremost War General of Yorubaland.

Adams, an indigene of Arigidi-Akoko in Ondo State, is also the Convener of Oodua Progressive Union (OPU), Founder of Gani Adams Foundation, Chief Promoter of Olokun Festival Foundation and the Chairman/CEO of Donyx Global Concept.
Below is the list of former holders of the title:
1. Kokoro Gangan of Iwoye
2. Oyapote of Iwoye
3. Oyabi of Ajase
4. Adeta of Jabata
5. Oku of Jabata
6. Afonja of Ilorin
7. Toyeje of Ogbomosho
8. Edun of Gbogun
9. Amepo of Abemo
10. Kurumi of Ijaye
11. Ojo Aburumaku of Ogbomosho (son of Toyeje of Ogbomosho)
12. Latoosa of Ibadan
13. Lakode Akintola of Ogbomosho (Premier of the Western region in the First Republic)
14. MKO Abiola of Abeokuta (the only man in history to simultaneously hold the titles of Basorun of Ibadan and Aare Ona Kakanfo of Yorubaland).




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here